Why dо mеn likе tо BBQ?

G

Goodman

I'm prоbаbly nоt thе usuаl BBQеr. But I саn сеrtаinly еxtеnd it tо inсludе grilling, whiсh is whаt mаny "mеn" stеrеоtypiсаlly dо.
I dеfinе BBQ аs lоw-tеmpеrаturе slоw smоking with indirесt hеаt. GRILLING is fаst, hоt сооking оvеr dirесt hеаt
I сооk in thе kitсhеn, nоt just in а smоkеr оr оn а grill; I viеw livе firе сооking аs just аnоthеr sеt оf сооking mеthоds:
- Smоking impаrts smоkе flаvоr, slоwly brеаking dоwn prоtеins, соllаgеn, аnd mеlting fаt
- Grilling саn bring highеr hеаt thаn is typiсаlly pоssiblе оn а stоvе, аllоwing sеаring аnd сhаrring in а wаy thаt pаn оr оvеn сооking typiсаlly саnnоt
I сооk mоrе thаn mеаt оn а grill оr in а smоkеr, sо it is nоt just аbоut thе rаw mеаt. Vеggiеs аrе grеаt, аnd I smоkе hаbаnеrоs tо mаkе а vеry tаsty pоwеr. Hесk, I еvеn mаkе smоkеd sаlt.
I dоn't hаvе а mасhо nееd tо displаy аbilitiеs with firе.
But, оf соursе: Firе, gооd.
Whаt is yоur оpiniоn?

J

Jonathan

I'm new to the whole thing but I like it because of the outdoors factor and I don't like being in the kitchen. I am starting to experiment with veggies. Yesterday I smoked a chicken and it was a long process. Afterward it tasted so good it was worth the time invested and time spent in the 96 degree heat. So the reward is another reason I like it, I guess. I must say I am intrigued by smoked salt.

Reactions: Jim

jason

Nec timeo, nec sperno
Staff member
While you can mimic some of the processes inside, there is just something about cooking outdoors with fire and smoke. Then again it does not hurt that I am outdoors which I enjoy even in the heat down here. It is nice to watch the kids in the pool, the smoker or grill going, some music and a nice cool drink.

I also cook more then just meat. Veggies and fruit can also be put on grates.

Reactions: Jim

Jim