Cast iron pan

S

shaun

I'm looking to buy a cast iron pan. I'm tired of using Teflon 'non-stick' pans which eventually lose their non-stick and become unusable. Do you have any advice for buying a cast iron pan? What should I look out for?

T

TopChef

I have a great cast iron skillet I found in the someone's trash by the side of the road. Sounds gross, but we restored it easily. They are so expensive new. We scrubbed it down and re-seasoned it. I've been using it for about 12 years now. Love it! Great for adding iron to your diet, too.

jason

Nec timeo, nec sperno
Staff member
Lodge is the most popular and best new one out. They tend to come pre-seasoned, but I season mine anyway. Usually cook something fatty like bacon the first few times. I like to get them nice and slick. Wal-mart, Bass Pro, and just about any other store that sells cast iron should have Lodge.

I search yard sales for old ones people want to get rid of. I've gotten a Griswold for a few dollars before. They were considered one of the best when they were around. But people let them get rusty, and consider them junk. I see a fun project of cleaning and seasoning.

S

shaun

Lodge is the most popular and best new one out. They tend to come pre-seasoned, but I season mine anyway. Usually cook something fatty like bacon the first few times. I like to get them nice and slick. Wal-mart, Bass Pro, and just about any other store that sells cast iron should have Lodge.

I search yard sales for old ones people want to get rid of. I've gotten a Griswold for a few dollars before. They were considered one of the best when they were around. But people let them get rusty, and consider them junk. I see a fun project of cleaning and seasoning.

Thanks for your advice. I gather they are quite expensive but I will probably save money in the long term because I wont need to rebuy every few months.