Country Fried Steak

MissPeggy

Has anyone made this before? Do you have a good recipe for it that you would share. This isn't something that we eat all the time but I would like to fix it myself sometime. Believe it or not, the times we have ate it has been at a restaurant.

shaun

I've never tried it before, it doesn't really appeal to me. The recipes will vary, you basically use the same method you would use for friend chicken, but use steak instead. You could use the flour, egg, breadcrumb coating or you could use flour and buttermilk etc.

beckyv1265

I always start with Cube steak and the soak it in buttermilk. Then I dip it in seasoned flour with salt,pepper,garlic and onion powder. I fry in bacon fat until it carmelizes on both sides. Then I remove it and add more butter and seasoned flour to the pan in equal amounts to make a rue. I then add beef broth and 1 cup of milk to make a gravy. I place the fried steak back in the gravy and then serve with mashed potatoes or rice. This is also great with liver and venison. I just pound the venison to cube it first.

If I have a meal I am curious about I always look on Food Networks site. This tends to give me some great recipes and some of them I have even seen on the cooking shows. So it taste and looks great!

Jenine

Making country fried steak is easy. This isn't something my family eats everyday either. But, I can share my mom's recipe with you. This is what I learned from her. She usually uses cubed steak. She seasons the steak with seasoned salt (my favorite seasoning), lemon pepper, pepper and garlic powder. You then dip the steak in the same flour that's used for fried chicken (usually white or self-rising flour). After that, you put the flour dipped cubed steak in the deep fryer or frying pan (with grease) and cook on both sides until Golden brown.

Epicfied